TMA’s Ernest and Sarah Butler Awards for Excellence in Science Teaching

Sep 14, 2011 | Rocky.Slavin | Share

Texas Medical Associationis giving away $22,500 in CASH prizes!  Please help us to spread the word!  Three Texas science teachers will receive $5,000 each and an all-expense paid trip to TMA’s annual conference for the presentation ceremony in May 2012!  Their schools will receive a $2,000 award to use toward the science curriculum! In addition, second-place winners receive $500 for their schools!

Each year, TMA’s Ernest and Sarah Butler Awards for Excellence in Science Teaching recognizes and rewards schoolteachers at the elementary, middle, and high school levels who share their energy and enthusiasm for science with their students.  We do this because innovative teaching supports the basic premise of medicine, that of healthcare having a scientific foundation.

Who’s eligible?  All Texas state-certified, full-time public and private school science teachers with a minimum of two years’ classroom experience who will return to teach during the 2012-13 school year are eligible.  All areas of science are welcome.

To nominate science teachers or to apply, visit our Web site at, where you will find more information and the appropriate forms.  The deadline for nominations is Oct. 21 and for applications is Dec. 16.  (All nominees will be contacted by TMA and asked to complete an application packet.)

Together let’s make sure Texas science teachers are well represented!  Nominate or apply today!

Questions?  Contact Gail Schatte at TMA at (800) 880-1300, 1600, or (512) 370-1600, or


Next Article   Previous Article

Our Sponsors
ExxonMobil Texas Workforce Commission UTSA